Skip to content

Afghanistan: How does terrorism end?

August 19, 2009

Wednesday’s are my quote days.

My quote today is the abstract for the RAND Corporation study, “How Terrorist Groups End: Implications for Countering al Qa’ida,” by Seth G. Jones and Martin C. Libicki, 2008.

“How do terrorist groups end? The evidence since 1968 indicates that terrorist groups rarely cease to exist as a result of winning or losing a military campaign. Rather, most groups end because of operations carried out by local police or intelligence agencies or because they join the political process. This suggests that the United States should pursue a counterterrorism strategy against al Qa’ida that emphasizes policing and intelligence gathering rather than a “war on terrorism” approach that relies heavily on military force.”

Rand’s “How Terrorist Groups End…” should be read by every voter in every Congressional district and then “spoon fed” to each member of Congress.

For more background, you might want to read Louise Richardson’s  What Terrorists Want.  Then write the editor of your local paper a letter conveying your views on whether a continuing U.S. war fighting campaign is what we need in  Afghanistan and naming your member of Congress. — JV

3 Comments
  1. August 21, 2009 9:57 am

    Brilliant. Thank you for the links.

  2. Christine permalink
    September 13, 2009 2:41 am

    Hi,
    I’ve just read the two latest discussions about Afghanistan. I am thankful to be given the opportunity to make joining these discussions a priority now as I have recently taken on the position of coordinator, at least for the next 9 months,coinciding with my Divnity program field experience placement, of the ecumenical peace ministry in Iowa, Iowa Peace Network, started by the Friends, Church of the Brethren, and Mennonites in Iowa. We are now joined by the Methodists. I have been very happy about the resource here with fCnl and I have promoted it within our network as a resource.
    To provide context for my perspective, I want to share that I have grown up Brethren and was raised in a congregation with a strong peace witness. I share so much of the peace witness perspective- that it is a command of Jesus to live peaceably with others and to work for justice in our world. So I know I don’t represent the bulk of the members of the Iowa Peace Network in my comments here and I only share this as my personal stance. I do share the belief that war is not the answer… yet I have to say I believe this issue is very difficult and complicated theologically and I come out on the moderate end of this discussion, specifically on the war in Afghanistan.

    I have to say I support our president, President Obama, in the decisions he makes and the strategy he creates and supports regarding Afghanistan. Our government, and the presidential office (it is part of their job) have access to information that we don’t. On the other hand, he has shared quite frankly about the situation for why he feels we must be militarily present in Afghanistan and Pakistan. If you haven’t read it already, may I suggest the reading on the presidential website, http://www.whitehouse.gov where there is posted Obama’s “”Remarks by the President on a New Strategy in Afghanistan and Pakistan.” It is under the category, “Homeland Security” under the tab, “Issues”.

    I share the vision for the peaceable kingdom, and a world without war, yet this is what I beleive about the war in Afghanistan. We must stand for our country. I most assuredly differ on opinion on this issue with many my co-workers in the peace movement, including here in Iowa. as there is an active movement for Anti-Afghanistan war going on right now, and discussin on it as we speak for an event to be held in Iowa- connected to a national movement for this viewpoint/ peace stance. This issue has been at the forefront of my mind because of this current conversation in Iowa. But I felt led to share this, and thanks for this space to begin my articulation of my perspective.

    Thank you.
    God bless.

  3. Christine permalink
    September 13, 2009 2:44 am

    I hope it is ok to add one more comment here. I want to point out Obama’s statements on this issue include that this is also a world security issue. So when we stand for our country, we also stand for the rest of the world. Serious stuff! It is shared right there on the White House website though.

    Thanks again.

Comments are closed.

