Skip to content

Does Obama Deserve the Peace Prize?

October 9, 2009

I have to admit I was quite surprised when my husband told me over breakfast this morning that Obama had won the Nobel Peace Prize. As I blog this the Washington Post’s online poll stands at 46% saying he deserves it and 54%, with nearly 24,000 respondents. As for me, I didn’t vote. I could come up with arguments for and against but right now I’m waiting to see what direction he takes US policy in Afghanistan and if he heeds the cautions beginning to emerge from Congress. Because this may well be be the most important decision he makes on matters of war and peace in his lifetime.

2 Comments
  1. biggrovewalker permalink
    October 10, 2009 5:13 pm

    I am with you Bridget. I want to be rejoicing about Obama’s Nobel Prize, but something holds me back. I am used to our house, where we don’t receive many awards. When we do, it is a big deal. A Nobel Prize? We don’t even dream about getting something like that here in Big Grove. So what is wrong with me that I hesitate to celebrate the president’s recognition?

    Where I disagree with you is in isolating the single issue of Afghanistan. To achieve success, in matters of war and peace, everything that is on President Obama’s agenda is important. If he develops a viable approach to Afghanistan, that is only one of the many balls he is juggling. He needs to bring them all safely to rest. What we need is an integrated approach to resolving the issues of Afghanistan, Iraq, environmental degradation, nuclear proliferation, the economy, hunger and the security and well being of United States citizens at home and abroad. He needs to do this all at once in my view. It serves the wrong master to parse out part of the long list, because in the end everything need to be addressed.

  2. October 12, 2009 11:45 am

    Well said. Thanks for the comment.

Comments are closed.

