Skip to content

Human Nature

December 9, 2009
by

Yesterday I was listening to one of my favorite NPR shows Radiolab. I was catching up on episodes that I missed this fall. Radiolab is the flagship show of WNYC’s science desk. I rarely get through an episode without having my perception of our world being changed in some significant way.

The episode I listened to most recently is titled New Normal, and it explores how we are continually changing our idea of what normal is. The episodes first segment talks about our changing ideas about whether humans are violent by nature. They present a journalist who is surveying people on only one question, “Will humans ever stop fighting wars?” They then turn to a story about a group of baboons who have became less aggressive after an accident. It is all worth hearing.

Listen here:
http://www.wnyc.org/shows/radiolab/episodes/2009/10/02/segments/134087.

Comments are closed.

