Skip to content

A song for the season

December 8, 2010
by

So far this holiday season I have had a hard time getting into the spirit things. I have enjoyed a handful of carols, lights, and cookies. My holiday cheer has been a little slow moving due to the stresses of life. Today my spirit was lifted.

Today is the 30th anniversary of the murder of John Lennon. I miss him. It bears mentioning that I am only 27. Often I think of how he would react to the trials of our current world. This morning National Public Radio was talking about his life and legacy while Imagine played in the background. On my way to work I listened to all my favorite John Lennon songs. I ended up listening to Happy Xmas (War is Over) three times. It is easily my favorite Christmas song. What resonated the most this morning were the lyrics “War is over, if you want it.”

Early in the song John challenges us by asking “What have you done?” This is where he and FCNL line up. Ending war is just a matter of people wanting it and then doing something about it. It is not enough to just want peace, we have to work for it.

I consider it a great blessing that I get to work everyday for peace. It is truly inspiring to be able to work with so many wonderful people working for peace throughout our network. Thank you all.

This holiday season there are two wars being waged and escalating conflict on the Korean Peninsula. It is easy to feel hopeless in this season of hope and peace. Today John Lennon showed me (for the millionth time) hope.

Sunday 21 Palestinian firemen from Bethlehem crossed into Israel to help them fight forest fires. Hope is there. Peace is possible. Happy Xmas.

War is Over- http://imaginepeace.com/archives/3587

2 Comments
  1. Ellen N. Duell permalink
    December 8, 2010 1:43 pm

    Thank you, Tom! This was so very good to read! I wish you many blessings, and am glad you are part of FCNL staff, making peace.

    Ellen Duell–(you are 27; I am 81. Joy to you. Life is good. Our attitudes and actions are as much a part of the “real world” as those of anyone else! What you pray and work for does good, never doubt it.)

  2. December 8, 2010 8:34 pm

    Thanks for the song and thoughts: I remember when John Lennon and Yoko Ono stopped by the Daily White House Vigil (24/7 presence literally in front of the White House gates under the care of New York Yearly Meeting) and dropped off a bunch of beautiful red roses — with no fanfare (literally) or press — in thanks for the peoples’ efforts to bring an end to the wars in Indochina.

Comments are closed.

